Litera - rubric Translation
ïî
Litera
12+
Journal Menu
> Issues > Rubrics > About journal > Authors > About the Journal > Requirements for publication > Editorial collegium > Editorial board > Peer-review process > Policy of publication. Aims & Scope. > Article retraction > Ethics > Online First Pre-Publication > Copyright & Licensing Policy > Digital archiving policy > Open Access Policy > Article Processing Charge > Article Identification Policy > Plagiarism check policy
Journals in science databases
About the Journal

MAIN PAGE > Journal "Litera" > Rubric "Translation"
Translation
Tetenova M.A. - Pre-translation analysis and translation strategy as components of the translation process pp. 1-14

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2024.1.68731

EDN: DHNSTA

Abstract: The subject of the study is pre-translation analysis and the process of choosing a translation strategy, since these stages are among the primary ones in building the translation process. The author examines in detail such aspects of the topic as the impact on both the translation process and the approach to it, and, subsequently, on the final translation product, which only emphasizes their importance in the translation system. Special attention is paid to the theoretical database of concepts and the chronology of the formation of concepts and terms, as well as to various translation models, within which the author highlights the place and function of pre-translation analysis. The main conclusions of the study are statements about the primacy of the stages of pre-translation analysis and the formation of a translation strategy in most existing translation models. A special contribution of the author to the research of the topic is an attempt to accumulate examples of argumentation of the translation strategy by ancient authors as evidence of a much earlier formation of concepts than terms. The novelty of the research consists in an attempt to create a chronological base for the formation of concepts and terms and the accumulation of historical artifacts for the subsequent systematization of knowledge about the processes of pre-translation analysis and the formation of a translation strategy, which will subsequently become not only the basis for translation, but also a reflection of the professional motivation of the translator.
Tetenova M.A. - Translation motivation and foreword by Charles Baudelaire "Edgar Poe, sa vie et ses œuvres" to the edition of E. A. Poe's texts pp. 1-18

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2024.2.69562

EDN: QYRFLC

Abstract: Charles Baudelaire is primarily known as a French poet, the author of the internationally acclaimed poetry collection "Flowers of Evil" ("Les Fleurs du Mal"). However, he is also known as a translator: it was he who created the translations that changed the literary fate of the genius not recognized at the time – Edgar Allan Poe. He wrote a 24-page preface to the collection of his translations "Histoires extraordinaires", on the basis of which the author analyzes the poet's approach to translation, records his argumentation and motivation. Within the framework of this article, the author provides an analysis of the preface by Sh. Baudelaire studies why the connection between these figures has been repeatedly called absolutely exceptional by researchers. The subject of the study is the motivation of Sh. Baudelaire's translation of E. A. Poe's texts, which he explains both in the preface to the publication of the texts of the American writer and in personal correspondence. The object of the study is the preface under the heading "Sa vie et ses œuvres", written by Sh. Baudelaire's edition of E. A. Poe's texts in his own translation, published by the publishing house "Michel Lévy" in 1869. The main research method was a detailed analysis of the text of the preface by Sh. Baudelaire's "Edgar Poe, sa vie et ses œuvres" to the edition of E. A. Poe's texts in his own translation of 1869. A special contribution of the author to the study of the topic is a detailed study of the preface by Sh. Baudelaire as an artifact containing the formulation of translation motivation directly by the translator himself. The artifact is presented to the author all the more valuable because the translator is a famous poet with a special, recognizable style, which obviously leaves its mark on his translations. The main conclusions of this study are: the need to study the phenomenon of the Baudelaire translator not only from the prefaces to the translations, but also from his statements in correspondence, as well as in the study of the cultural era accompanying the creation of these translations and containing events such as the confrontation of the Romantics and the Parnassian school. The scientific novelty lies in the creation of a detailed analysis, based on which more specific episodes of the life and work of S. Baudelaire as a translator can be studied.
Vigna-Taglianti J., Sidorova E.N. - Translator’s “Visibility”: E. Teza and His Translation of Pushkin’s “The Undertaker” pp. 174-184

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2023.11.69092

EDN: ZYJODK

Abstract: The article deals with the issue of translator’s “visibility” using the translation of Pushkin’s short story “The Undertaker” published by Emilio Teza in the literary journal “Ateneo Veneto” in 1884 as an example. This translation was chosen for two main reasons: firstly, its historical meaning for intercultural relations between Russia and Italy as the first Italian translation of Pushkin’s short story; secondly, its translator – a well-known academician from the late 1800s, whose research concerned different areas of philology, linguistics, and comparative studies, as well as translation. As a result, despite then-predominant domesticating strategies, different elements in the target text reflect Teza’s personality and thus prove his “visibility”. The research started from the scrutiny of the translator’s biography, allowing the contextualization of this translation at a precise moment in Teza’s life. Through the contrastive analysis of the source and the texts several translatologically relevant units were identified. Afterwards, the translation strategies and shifts applied in their rendering into Italian were analysed. The scientific novelty lies in the application of such analysis to a previously unstudied text. The research led to the following conclusions: in the rendering of Russian realia, the target text is characterized by an overall domesticating strategy, typical of late-1800s translations and often correlated to the concept of translator’s “invisibility”. However, the presence of detailed footnotes reflects Teza’s personality as an ethnographer, thus making him “visible”. The presence of Tuscan dialectal forms in the target text hints at the translator’s biography, who in 1884 was living in Pisa. In addition, an example of linguistic interference from Serbian can be seen as a reference to Teza’s multilingualism. Therefore, it was proven that the translator’s personality can become “visible” by thoroughly analyzing linguistic features and translation shifts.
Petrova A.D. - Metaphor and metonymy in translation: transformation of images in Russian versions of Guillaume Apollinaire's works pp. 182-191

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2024.1.69434

EDN: CBULSF

Abstract: This study is devoted to the nuances of metaphor and metonymy translation, in particular, to the works of Guillaume Apollinaire and their Russian translations. The article begins by defining the theoretical foundations of metaphor and metonymy, drawing on linguistic and cognitive theories to emphasise their importance in literary discourse. It then provides a thorough analysis of Apollinaire's unique stylistic elements, highlighting the fusion of visual and verbal poetics and how these aspects pose a challenge to the translator. The main part of the study is an in-depth analysis of selected Apollinaire works, offering a comparative analysis of the original French texts and their Russian counterparts. This segment highlights the difficulties inherent in translating Apollinaire's rich metaphorical and metonymic language, marked by a characteristic combination of visual imagery and linguistic innovation. The study uses a range of linguistic examples to demonstrate both successful and problematic translation solutions, providing a multifaceted insight into the translation process. The paper then examines the specific difficulties of translating metaphor and metonymy into Russian, given the linguistic and cultural differences between French and Russian. It presents various translation techniques such as substitution, modulation and word-for-word translation and evaluates their effectiveness in bridging the gap between the two languages. The study also critically examines examples where direct translation fails to convey the essence of the original, emphasising the importance of cultural context and idiomatic appropriateness in translation. The conclusion summarises the findings, highlighting the crucial role of cultural and cognitive considerations when translating metaphors and metonymies.
Feng W., Perfiliev A.K., Hu P. - Translation of medical terms into Chinese pp. 306-314

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2023.12.69349

EDN: KWAFAA

Abstract: The subject of this study is the peculiarities of translating medical terms into Chinese. The purpose of the study is to analyze strategies for translating medical terms into Chinese, as well as to identify the most effective and frequent methods of translation of medical terms. The research material is medical terms (60 hieroglyphic names of medicines and medical equipment) and their translation into Chinese. The article analyzes the four most commonly used ways of translating medical terms: phonetic, semantic, graphic and mixed. The analysis also focuses on alphabetic words of the Chinese language: full alphabetic words and partial alphabetic hieroglyphic words. The features of translating medical terms of Latin origin into Chinese and medical terms borrowed from English are compared. To achieve this goal, the following methods were used: descriptive method, method of analysis of theoretical literature, as well as methods of systematization of material and classification. The novelty of the study lies in the fact that with the advent of new medicines and medical equipment, the question of translating new concepts into other languages, in particular into Chinese, has become acute. The article provides examples illustrating typical ways of translating medical terms into Chinese. The authors conclude that when translating borrowings from Latin into Chinese, preference is given to the phonetic method, while when translating English medical terms, phonetic-semantic, semantic and graphical methods are mainly used. The semantic method allows you to convey the meaning of borrowed words most fully, as well as create a pragmatic effect. The frequency of using the graphical translation method is significantly lower, since English and Chinese have different types of writing, which also introduces limitations for the transmission and interpretation of information.
Other our sites:
Official Website of NOTA BENE / Aurora Group s.r.o.

Litera - рубрика Перевод
по
Litera
12+
Меню журнала
> Архив номеров > Рубрики > О журнале > Авторы > О журнале > Требования к статьям > Редакционный совет > Редакция > Порядок рецензирования статей > Политика издания > Ретракция статей > Этические принципы > Политика открытого доступа > Оплата за публикации в открытом доступе > Online First Pre-Publication > Политика авторских прав и лицензий > Политика цифрового хранения публикации > Политика идентификации статей > Политика проверки на плагиат
Журналы индексируются
Реквизиты журнала

ГЛАВНАЯ > Журнал "Litera" > Рубрика "Перевод"
Перевод
Тетенова М.А. - Предпереводческий анализ и переводческая стратегия как составляющие процесса перевода c. 1-14

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2024.1.68731

EDN: DHNSTA

Аннотация: Предметом исследования являются предпереводческий анализ и процесс выбора переводческой стратегии, так как данные этапы являются одними из первичных в выстраивании переводческого процесса. Автор подробно рассматривает такие аспекты темы, как влияние как на процесс выполнения перевода и подход к нему, так и впоследствии на итоговый продукт перевода, что лишь подчёркивает их важность в системе перевода. Особое внимание уделяется теоретической базе данных понятий и хронологии формирования понятий и терминов, а также различным моделям перевода, внутри которых автор выделяет место и функцию предпереводческого анализа. Основными выводами проведённого исследования являются утверждения о первичности этапов предпереводческого анализа и формирования переводческой стратегии в большинстве существующих моделей перевода. Особым вкладом автора в исследование темы является попытка накопления примеров аргументации переводческой стратегии древними авторами в качестве доказательства куда более раннего формирования понятий, чем терминов. Новизна исследования заключается в попытке создания хронологической базы формирования понятий и терминов и накопления исторических артефактов для последующей систематизации знаний о процессах предпереводческого анализа и формирования переводческой стратегии, которые впоследствии станут не только базой для осуществления перевода, но и отражением профессиональной мотивации переводчика.
Тетенова М.А. - Переводческая мотивация и предисловие Шарля Бодлера «Edgar Poe, sa vie et ses œuvres» к изданию текстов Э. А. По c. 1-18

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2024.2.69562

EDN: QYRFLC

Аннотация: Шарль Бодлер в первую очередь известен как французский поэт, автор снискавшего всемирную славу поэтического сборника «Цветы зла» («Les Fleurs du Mal»). Однако он также известен как переводчик: именно он создал переводы, изменившие литературную судьбу не признанного в своё время гения – Эдгара Аллана По. К сборнику своих переводов «Histoires extraordinaires» он написал 24-страничное предисловие, на основе которого автор проводит анализ подхода поэта к переводу, фиксирует его аргументацию и мотивацию. В рамках данной статьи автор приводит анализ предисловия Ш. Бодлера и изучает, почему связь между этими фигурами неоднократно называлась исследователями абсолютно исключительной. Предметом исследования является мотивация Ш. Бодлера к переводу текстов Э. А. По, которую он поясняет как в предисловии к изданию текстов американского писателя, так и в личной переписке. Объектом исследования является предисловие под заголовком «Sa vie et ses œuvres», написанное Ш. Бодлером к изданию текстов Э. А. По в его собственном переводе, опубликованное издательством «Michel Lévy» в 1869 году.  Основным методом исследования послужил детальный анализ текста предисловие Ш. Бодлера «Edgar Poe, sa vie et ses œuvres» к изданию текстов Э. А. По в его собственном переводе 1869 года. Особым вкладом автора в исследование темы является подробное изучение предисловия Ш. Бодлера в качестве артефакта, содержащего формулировку переводческой мотивации непосредственно самим переводчиком. Артефакт представляется автору тем ценнее, что переводчик является известным поэтом с особым, узнаваемым стилем, что, очевидно, накладывает свой отпечаток на его переводы. Основными выводами данного исследования являются: необходимость изучения феномена Бодлера-переводчика не только по предисловиям к переводам, но и по его высказываниям в переписке, а также в изучении культурной эпохи, сопутствующей созданию данных переводов и содержавшей в себе такие события, как противостояние романтиков и Парнасской школы. Научная новизна заключается в создании детального анализа, с опорой на который могут исследоваться более конкретные эпизоды жизни и творчества Ш. Бодлера как переводчика.
Винья-Тальянти Я., Сидорова Е.Н. - «Видимость» переводчика: Э. Тедза и его перевод «Гробовщика» А. С. Пушкина c. 174-184

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2023.11.69092

EDN: ZYJODK

Аннотация: В статье рассматривается вопрос «видимости» переводчика на примере перевода повести «Гробовщик» А.С. Пушкина, опубликованного Э. Тедзой в литературной газете «Ateneo Veneto» в 1884 г. Данный перевод выбран авторами статьи в качестве объекта исследования по двум причинам: во-первых, он имеет важное значение в истории межкультурных отношений России и Италии, поскольку представляет собой первый перевод пушкинской повести на итальянский язык; во-вторых, автор данного перевода – известный академик XIX в., исследования которого касались разных направлений филологии, лингвистики, компаративистики, в т.ч. перевода. Следовательно, вопреки доминирующей в то время стратегии доместикации, в переведённом тексте возможно выявить различные текстуальные элементы, отражающие личность Э. Тедзой и доказывающие его «видимость». Отправной точкой исследования стало изучение биографии переводчика, позволяющее конкретно контекстуализировать данный перевод в определённый момент жизни Э. Тедзы. Сравнительный анализ текстов оригинала и перевода позволило идентифицировать переводческие единицы, представляющие собой особый интерес для переводоведения. Следовательно, были проанализированы переводческие приёмы и стратегии, применённые в процессе их передачи на итальянский язык. Научная новизна исследования заключается в применении такого вида анализа к ранее не изученному произведению. Проведённое исследование привело авторов к следующим выводам: в переведённом тексте наблюдается общая стратегия доместикации при переводе русских реалий, что является основной характеристикой переводов конца XIX в. и чаще всего ассоциируется с концепцией «невидимости» переводчика. Однако, система очень детализированных пояснительных сносок отражает личность Э. Тедзы как этнографа, тем самым делая его «видимым». Использование широкого спектра тосканизмов в переводе указывает на биографию его автора, который в 1884 г. жил в городе Пиза. Также в тексте присутствует пример языковой интерференции с сербского языка, который свидетельствует о Тедзе как полиглоте. Таким образом, доказано, что личность переводчика при подробном анализе языковых средств и переводческих приёмов становится «видимой».
Петрова А.Д. - Метафора и метонимия в переводе: трансформация образов в русских версиях произведений Гийома Аполлинера c. 182-191

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2024.1.69434

EDN: CBULSF

Аннотация: Данное исследование посвящено нюансам перевода метафор и метонимов, в частности, произведениям Гийома Аполлинера и их русским переводам. Статья начинается с определения теоретических основ метафоры и метонимии, опираясь на лингвистические и когнитивные теории, чтобы подчеркнуть их значение в литературном дискурсе. Затем в ней проводится тщательный анализ уникальных стилистических элементов Аполлинера, подчеркивается слияние визуальной и вербальной поэтики, а также то, как эти аспекты ставят перед переводчиком сложную задачу. Основная часть исследования представляет собой углубленный анализ отдельных произведений Аполлинера, предлагающий сравнительный анализ оригинальных французских текстов и их русских аналогов. Этот сегмент освещает сложности, присущие переводу богатого метафорического и метонимического языка Аполлинера, отмеченного характерным сочетанием визуальной образности и языкового новаторства. В исследовании используется целый ряд лингвистических примеров, демонстрирующих как удачные, так и проблемные переводческие решения, что позволяет получить многогранное представление о процессе перевода. Далее в статье рассматриваются специфические трудности передачи метафоры и метонимии на русском языке, учитывая лингвистические и культурные различия между французским и русским языками. В исследовании также критически рассматриваются примеры, когда прямой перевод не передает суть оригинала, подчеркивая важность культурного контекста и идиоматической уместности в переводе. В заключении обобщаются полученные результаты, подчеркивается решающая роль культурных и когнитивных соображений при переводе метафор и метонимов. Данное исследование вносит значительный вклад в переводоведение, предлагая нюансы понимания сложностей перевода этих риторических средств. Оно подчеркивает необходимость того, чтобы переводчики обладали не только лингвистическими знаниями, но и глубоким пониманием культурных и идиоматических нюансов как исходного, так и переводящего языков. Результаты исследования завершаются перспективами для будущих исследований, предлагая продолжить изучение различных языковых пар, влияния перевода на восприятие литературы в разных культурах и разработку инновационных переводческих методик.
Фэн В., Перфильев А.К., Ху П. - Перевод медицинских терминов на китайский язык c. 306-314

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8698.2023.12.69349

EDN: KWAFAA

Аннотация: Предметом данного исследования являются особенности перевода медицинских терминов на китайский язык. Цель работы – анализ стратегий перевода медицинских терминов на китайский язык, а также выявление наиболее эффективных и частотных способов. Материалом исследования послужили медицинские термины (60 иероглифических наименований лекарственных препаратов и медицинского оборудования) и их перевод на китайский язык. В статье анализируются четыре наиболее часто используемых способа перевода медицинских терминов: фонетический, семантический, графический и смешанный. В фокусе анализа также оказываются алфавитные слова китайского языка: полные алфавитные слова и частичные алфавитно- иероглифические слова. Сравниваются особенности перевода на китайский язык медицинских терминов латинского происхождения и медицинских терминов, заимствованных из английского языка.   Для решения поставленной цели были использованы: описательный метод, метод анализа теоретической литературы, а также приемы систематизации материала и классификации. Новизна исследования заключается в том, что с появлением новых лекарственных препаратов и медицинского оборудования, остро встал вопрос о переводе новых понятий на другие языки, в частности, на китайский.В статье приводятся примеры, иллюстрирующие типичные способы перевода медицинских терминов на китайский язык. Авторы приходят к выводу, что при переводе заимствований с латинского языка на китайский предпочтение отдается фонетическому способу, в то время как при переводе английских медицинских терминов преимущественно используется фонетико-семантический, семантический и графический способы. Семантический способ позволяет наиболее полно передать смысл заимствованных слов, а также создать прагматический эффект. Частота использования графического метода перевода значительно ниже, так как английский и китайский языки имеют разные виды письменности, что также вносит ограничения для передачи и интерпретации информации.
Другие сайты издательства:
Официальный сайт издательства NotaBene / Aurora Group s.r.o.